People Ops Buyer.

Hiring in the UK

By Mary Jones, International Employment Specialist · Reviewed by Sarah Bloom, Editor · Last checked

Our starting shortlist

Hiring in the UK without a local company? Compare these EOR providers.

  • TeamedStretched HR teams that need reliable support and predictable fees.
  • RemoteConnected HR systems
  • DeelEmployees and contractors together

The cost in our example

£69,570.90annual employment cost

For a £60,000 salary in our 2026–27 example, including standard employer National Insurance and minimum pension contributions, before provider fees.

Primary source ↗

Compare the management fee, FX and extras as well as salary. Skilled Worker sponsorship needs a separate assessment and is usually unavailable through an arrangement supplying workers to your business.

Top EOR providers for the UK.

These providers cover hires in the UK, ordered by our overall score. Compare their fees and support to find the right fit.

Last checked: · How we rank providers

United Kingdom · £ equivalents per employee / month · checked 29 September 2026
Provider / our scoreFeesEmploying entityBest forDifferentiatorWatch-out
01Teamed4.7 / 5Cost transparency/FX: 5.0 / 5Read review →Management£452Likely monthly cost£452per employee / monthNot disclosedStretched HR teams that need reliable support and predictable fees.Decisive in-country HR support when employment questions need answers. The only major EOR that charges no FX fees on cross-currency payroll. Removing the provider FX spread can lower the full bill and make month-end reconciliation clearer.Refundable deposit of one month’s salary Source ↗
02Remote4.7 / 5Cost transparency/FX: 4.7 / 5Read review →ManagementFrom £528Likely monthly costFrom £663per employee / monthModel estimateOwn UK entityAn HR team adding overseas employees to its existing HR systemsUK employing company named in its local termsStarting fee exceeds the lowest-priced providers here Source ↗
03Deel4.7 / 5Cost transparency/FX: 3.7 / 5Read review →ManagementFrom £452Likely monthly costFrom £588per employee / monthModel estimateNot disclosedA business managing employees and contractors in the same workflowEmployees and contractors in one platformStarting fee exceeds RemoFirst in this table Source ↗
04Oyster4.3 / 5Read review →ManagementFrom £528Likely monthly costFrom £663per employee / monthModel estimateNot disclosedA distributed team giving employees access to their own payroll recordsDocumented hiring and payroll workflowsAnnual EOR seats are non-refundable Source ↗
05RemoFirst4.3 / 5Read review →ManagementFrom £151Likely monthly costFrom £286per employee / monthModel estimatePartner entityA small team hiring abroad with a tight provider-fee budgetLow advertised management feeThe advertised starting fee varies with local country requirements Source ↗
06G-P4.3 / 5Read review →ManagementFrom £452Likely monthly costFrom £588per employee / monthModel estimateNot disclosedAn HR team coordinating employee onboarding across several countriesEmployment administration and HR-system connectionsContractor management is a separately priced product Source ↗
07Papaya Global4.1 / 5Read review →Management£ quote neededLikely monthly cost£ quote neededper employee / monthSource currency unspecifiedNot disclosedA finance team consolidating workforce payroll and cross-border paymentsCombines workforce administration and paymentsPublished starting price does not specify its dollar currency Source ↗
08Multiplier4.0 / 5Read review →ManagementFrom £347 · annual contractLikely monthly costFrom £482per employee / monthModel estimateNot disclosedA business with a settled hiring plan that can commit annuallyPayroll and employee workflows in one platformThe listed starting price requires an annual contract Source ↗
09Atlas HXM3.9 / 5Read review →ManagementFrom £452Likely monthly costFrom £588per employee / monthModel estimateNot disclosedA business consolidating EOR employees under a direct-employer serviceMarkets a direct-employer serviceCurrency conversion includes a markup on the OANDA spot rate Source ↗
10Justworks3.7 / 5Read review →Management£452Likely monthly costFrom £588per employee / monthModel estimateNot disclosedA US employer adding its first employees outside the USInternational hiring alongside HR administrationOnboarding is guided rather than self-service Source ↗
11Rivermate3.7 / 5Read review →Management£241–482Likely monthly costFrom £377–618per employee / monthModel estimateNot disclosedA small HR team seeking a human contact for overseas employmentPublishes direct and partner delivery optionsPublished price is a range, not one fixed fee Source ↗
12WorkMotion3.3 / 5Read review →ManagementFrom £429Likely monthly costFrom £564per employee / monthModel estimateNot disclosedAn HR team coordinating payroll across several hiring countriesCountry-specific payroll administrationServices outside the agreed scope can incur separate charges Source ↗

Scroll across to compare every column

Not disclosed means UK entity ownership was not established in the reviewed sources. Equal overall scores use the published cost-transparency/FX tie-break.

How much does it cost to employ someone in the UK through an EOR, including employer NICs and pension auto-enrolment?

In the UK, a £60,000 salary costs £69,570.90 a year before EOR fees in this 2026–27 example: £60,000 salary, £8,250 employer National Insurance and £1,320.90 minimum employer pension contributions. This assumes standard National Insurance treatment and an employee eligible for automatic enrolment.

The full hiring budget also includes the EOR management fee, any FX charge, benefits and other agreed extras. Age-related National Insurance relief and Employment Allowance can change the employer’s bill. A refundable deposit increases upfront funding, rather than the annual employment cost.

This example uses standard National Insurance and minimum employer pension contributions. Employees under 21 and qualifying apprentices under 25 can attract National Insurance relief up to the relevant earnings limit. Employment Allowance can reduce an eligible employer’s bill; ask whether any saving reaches your quote.

Scroll across for the calculation and annual amounts →

UK annual cost example for one employee, checked 29 September 2026. Amounts are in pounds. EOR fees and other costs are extra.
CostCalculationAnnual amount
Gross salaryPlanning assumption£60,000.00
Employer National Insurance15% × (£60,000 − £5,000)£8,250.00
Employer pension3% × (£50,270 − £6,240)£1,320.90
Subtotal before provider fees and other costsSalary + employer NIC + pension£69,570.90

If all £69,570.90 were converted at a 2% charge, currency conversion would add £1,391.42 a year. Include benefits, insurance and any applicable levy in the final quote.

Sources: HMRC: 2026–27 employer rates · UK Government: workplace pension contributions · The Pensions Regulator: contributions · Association of Taxation Technicians: 2026–27 rates

Build your hiring budget →

Can a UK employer of record sponsor a Skilled Worker visa?

Usually not. If the employee will work under your day-to-day direction, the arrangement will not normally qualify. The UK visa sponsor must remain responsible for the employee’s duties and work.

Different rules can apply when a sponsor delivers a defined service or project. A sponsor licence alone does not make an EOR hire eligible.

Before paying visa or onboarding fees, ask who will manage the employee and take responsibility for their work. If they will report to your managers in a regular role, check whether you need to employ and sponsor them directly.

The Immigration Rules govern Skilled Worker sponsorship. Check the sponsor’s duties under those rules before relying on a visa offer.

Sources: UK Home Office · Crowe (commentary) · DavidsonMorris (commentary)

Assess direct employment through a UK company →

Is a UK EOR cheaper than setting up a UK limited company for three employees?

£21,144 a year for three employees makes the EOR cheaper in this UK administration-cost model, compared with £55,364 for a UK company in year one. Both routes still require salary and equivalent employment costs; those are excluded from this comparison.

The company becomes cheaper at 11 employees in year one, or 10 in later years, under the stated assumptions. The model includes EOR management, FX and extras, versus company setup, HR support, accounting, half an internal role and incidentals. These are planning assumptions, not a universal headcount threshold.

The $599 monthly management fee comes to $21,564 a year for three people, or about £16,258. Our extra-fee allowance adds about £4,886. The company budget includes £5,000 setup, £199 per employee per month for HR support, £800 a month for basic accounting, £30,000 for half of an internal role and £3,600 for other running costs.

The employee-count comparison holds those costs steady as the team grows. More complex payroll, extra advice, higher internal workload or overlapping EOR fees will move the break-even point. Check whether payroll is included in the HR support quote. The company-service inputs assume a minimum 12-month contract.

Scroll across for the calculation and annual amounts →

Three employees: annual administration costs, in pounds. Salary and equivalent employment costs apply under both options.
CostEORUK company, year one
Management or HR support£16,258£7,164
Currency conversion and extra-fee allowance£4,886Included in the £3,600 allowance below; replace with actual charges
Company setup£0 assumed£5,000
Basic accountingIncluded in EOR service£9,600
Half of an internal role£0 additional assumed£30,000
Other running costsIncluded in extra-fee allowance£3,600
Total£21,144£55,364

Sources: UK Government: company responsibilities · Oury Clark: UK entity versus EOR (commentary) · Crowe: payroll versus EOR cost structure (commentary) · ECB: exchange rates, 28 September 2026

Build your hiring budget →

How does an employer of record handle PAYE and National Insurance for a UK employee if my company is based in the US?

The UK employer operates PAYE, deducts the employee’s Income Tax and National Insurance, and pays employer NICs. Your US location does not make UK work tax-free.

From 6 April 2026, additional PAYE liability can reach an agency or end client in a qualifying umbrella-company supply chain. Establish the actual contractual chain and who reports and pays HMRC; an EOR label does not settle that liability.

Sources: HMRC: employed labour supply · LITRG: umbrella employees (commentary) · HMRC: April 2026 labour-supply rules

Does moving a contractor onto a UK employer of record take them outside the IR35 off-payroll rules?

Yes, for the new work if the contractor genuinely becomes an employee paid through PAYE instead of supplying services through their own intermediary.

IR35 concerns the intermediary arrangement; it is not a separate tax on every employee. The conversion does not settle earlier PSC periods or historical status liabilities. Keep the old contract’s final invoice separate from the new employment salary and benefits.

Sources: HMRC: off-payroll clients · HMRC: employed labour supply · LITRG: umbrella employees (commentary)

What are the HMRC off-payroll working rules for an overseas client using a UK EOR in 2026?

If you still engage a personal service company, a wholly overseas client without a UK connection falls outside the client-led off-payroll rules; the intermediary retains its own assessment responsibility.

A UK connection changes that analysis. Genuine EOR employment runs through PAYE instead. Separately, the April 2026 umbrella-company rules can affect labour-supply chains, so an overseas address is not a universal exemption.

Sources: HMRC: off-payroll clients · RSM: off-payroll working (commentary) · HMRC: April 2026 labour-supply rules

What employment rights does a UK employee on an EOR contract have from day one?

An EOR employee has ordinary employee protections: minimum wage, paid-holiday accrual, payslips, written employment particulars and protection against discrimination and unlawful wage deductions.

Probation does not suspend these rights. Eligibility and service requirements still apply to other entitlements, including some statutory payments and redundancy pay. The employment contract can improve the minimum but cannot remove it.

Sources: Acas: employee rights · Government: employment-rights checklist

How do statutory sick pay and holiday pay work for EOR employees in the UK?

For qualifying sickness from 6 April 2026, statutory sick pay starts on the first full qualifying day, at the lower of £123.25 a week or 80% of average weekly earnings, for up to 28 weeks.

Most workers also receive 5.6 weeks’ paid holiday annually, pro-rated for their working pattern. Contractual benefits can be better; transitional sick-pay protections may affect an absence spanning the change.

Sources: Acas: statutory sick pay · HMRC: sick-pay calculation · Government: holiday entitlement

Can I convert a UK contractor caught by IR35 into an EOR employee without a gap in pay?

A continuous payment timetable is possible, but it must be arranged rather than promised. Agree the contractor’s last invoicing period, the employment start date and the first payroll cutoff before ending the old engagement.

The employer needs the worker’s P45 or starter information to calculate PAYE. Moving into employment changes the pay and benefits calculation; it does not automatically preserve the contractor’s take-home amount.

Sources: HMRC: starter checklist · LITRG: umbrella employees (commentary)

What notice and redundancy rules apply when terminating a UK employee hired through an EOR?

The EOR must handle a lawful dismissal process as well as final pay. Statutory employer notice is normally one week after one month’s service, then one week per completed year from two years, capped at twelve weeks; a longer contract controls.

A qualifying redundancy normally attracts statutory redundancy pay after two years’ continuous employment. Provider cancellation alone does not terminate the employee or replace these obligations.

Sources: Acas: dismissal notice · Government: redundancy rights

Work out the full monthly cost

The service fee is one line in the budget. Use amounts from a local quote to separate monthly spending from deposits and other upfront cash.

Default example: one UK employee earning £60,000 a year. Monthly averages in GBP.
Budget lineAmount
Monthly gross salary£5,000.00
Monthly employer costs and pension£797.58
Monthly management fee£451.62
Monthly FX and extras allowance£135.71
Total monthly spending£6,384.91
First-year spending£76,618.92
One-off setup£0.00
Refundable deposit£5,000.00
Cash for first month, setup and deposit£11,384.91

Enter every amount in the same currency; this tool does not convert currencies or calculate local tax. Enter 0 only where the quote confirms no charge. Use monthly averages for annual benefits or bonuses.

Add your quoted amounts to see the budget.

Compare providers for your next move

About the cost examples

Examples are budgets, not quotes. Salaries and equivalent employment costs apply under both hiring options. Provider cards show management fees and an estimated monthly provider bill, excluding salary, employer contributions, benefits and deposits.

The fee estimate uses $6,000 monthly payroll, a 2% currency-conversion allowance and a 1% allowance for occasional fees unless confirmed provider terms differ. The three-person comparison uses $599 management plus $180 in allowances per employee per month. Provider table prices are GBP equivalents rounded up to the nearest pound; EUR prices use £0.85785 per €1. Dollar amounts are converted at £0.753955 per $1, using ECB rates from 28 September 2026. The conversion itself is separate from the 2% allowance.

The company comparison uses the Teamed company-service prices supplied by the publisher: £5,000 setup, £199 monthly HR support per employee and £800 monthly basic accounting, with a 12-month minimum. It adds £30,000 for half of an internal role and £3,600 for office, banking, notary, currency charges and other extras. Confirm payroll scope and replace these amounts with your quote; complexity and transition costs can increase them. The model assumes no extra EOR setup or internal administration cost, and assumes those fixed running costs stay the same as the team grows. Amounts are rounded for display; break-even uses unrounded figures. Refundable deposits are cash needed upfront, not recurring fees.

The calculator starts with £60,000 annual salary, standard employer costs averaged monthly, the $599 management-fee example and $180 monthly extras allowance converted to pounds. It assumes no setup charge and a £5,000 refundable deposit. Monthly rounding can make its annual total differ slightly from the annual example. Replace the inputs with your quote.

Your next conversation

Book a demo.

See how it could work for your team. Start with your work email.

Your request is handled by People Ops Buyer. We’ll follow up to arrange the next step. No meeting is booked until confirmed.

View the provider fee guide
Monthly management fee
Expected provider fee · planning estimate

Expected fees use an illustrative USD 6,000 monthly payroll and benchmark extras unless confirmed terms differ. Salary, employer costs and deposits are separate.